Sunday, October 1, 2023

AASU elects new executives at 13th elective congress

Most Read

AASU elects new executives at 13th elective congress

At its 13th Elective Congress held at Kibi, Ghana, between December 20-22, 2021, the All-Africa Students Union (AASU) elected...

Brilliant Dr. Shekira receives citation after sweeping 7 medical student awards

The Zongo and Inner City Development Secretariat has presented a citation to Dr. Shekira Yahaya for sweeping 7 medical...


By Selikem Donkor The title of this article rings a bell in the mind of the legally savvy. Yes, it...

At its 13th Elective Congress held at Kibi, Ghana, between December 20-22, 2021, the All-Africa Students Union (AASU) elected new executives to lead the Union for the next four years. The congress was attended by 38 countries in Africa, 19 in attending physically, while the rest joined joined virtually.

The All-Africa Students Union is the umbrella organisation for all African students from the basic level to higher institutions of learning and a very dominant force on the Continent and beyond. Since its inception in 1972 with just ten members, AASU in 2021 has 72 Member Unions across the African Continent, representing over 170 million students in Africa and the diaspora.

The Congress elected the following distinguished personalities for the various position:

Varney Alieu Jarsey from Liberia was elected President securing 32 votes representing 91.4% of the total votes cast while his contender, Osisiogu Osikenyi Igwe, from Nigeria secured 2 votes representing 5.7%, with 1 spoilt ballot representing 2.9%. Secretary General, Peter Kwasi Kodjie was retained for another term by delegates.

Kenyan Gender Activist and Secretary for Gender and International Relations at AASU, Angel Mbuthia was also re-elected for another mandate. Other include; Juliet Tsepang Khumalo, Lesotho as Deputy Secretary General, Emad Ahmed Nasir Abu Isnynah, Libya, Secretary for Education and Students Rights, Eustache Ndayisaba, Rwanda as Finance & Administration, Ajavon Kokoe Vanéssa Augustine, Togo as Secretary for Press and Information.

For the positions of Regional Vice Presidents, these persons were elected; El Hadj Hussein Tapily from Cote D’ Ivoire, Vice President for West Africa, Esther Ndeme Assiene, Cameroon, Vice President for Central Africa, Misheck Kakonde, Zambia, Vice President for Southern Africa, Mohamedali Abbobaker Mohamed Elsafi, Sudan, Vice President for East Africa, Moustapha Sidi, Mauritania, Vice President for North Africa.

Other elected officers include; Ericson Ocanté Ié, Guinea-Bissau, West Africa Executive Committee Member, Mpaki Sah Phalek Schadrak, Gabon, Central Africa, Tlotlo Madisa, Bostwana, Southern Africa Executive Committee Member, Gerard Musabanganji, Burundi, East Africa Executive Committee Member.

The election was organized by the Electoral Commission of AASU in strict adherence to the legitimate AASU Constitution.

Also, the elections were observed and supervised by reps from the Electoral Commission of Ghana and the Ministry for Foreign Affairs, Ghana.

The newly elected executive reiterated their commitment to leading the cause of students on the continent.

The All-African Students Union congratulates to all the newly elected leaders of the Union. For further correspondence on this release, you may please call +233-48636829

- - -
- Advertisement -

Latest News

VPN Available for Torrenting – Private and also Safe Downloads

Compared to NordVPN, which you can find out more about in our NordVPN review, ExpressVPN's attain is wider....
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This

- - -